Patricia Walkow

Award Winning Author

New Mexico Remembers 9/11

Anthology: New Mexico Remembers 9/11

Anthology: New Mexico Remembers 9/11
Published by Artemesia Publishing, LLC
Buy from:


Patricia Walkow’s contributions to this anthology:
Curator, Editor, and Contributor / Introduction / Apart

The terrorist attacks of 9/11 seared themselves into America's collective memory. Non-stop images of collapsing towers, airlines flying into buildings, and a low-flying jet plunging into the Pentagon cannot be forgotten. Recordings of phone conversations between doomed passengers on United Fight 93—who knew about the previous attacks—and their loved ones on the ground, play over and over in our ears. In the subsequent days and months, much was said about New York and Washington D.C., and Pennsylvania. It was as though the rest of the country disappeared. The media people seemed to ignore the reality that the United States was attacked, and that people in states like Missouri, Oregon, Alabama, and New Mexico were also terrorized. Aftershocks of the event spread far and wide.

This anthology captures the 9/11/2001 experiences of New Mexican writers. Some witnessed the event first-hand. Some were still in school, or out of the country. But all of them now live in The Land of Enchantment, the state snuggled between Texas and Arizona. The talented contributors to New Mexico Remembers 9/11 offer enlightening, sometimes heart-wrenching prose, thoughtful analysis, and evocative poetry.

What did they see? Do? How have they coped since then? What did they tell their children? How did they get home? Who got angry? Who retreated into themselves?

Recognition and Awards:
Arizona-New Mexico Book Awards – 1st place
Military Writers Society of America – Gold medal
New Mexico Press Women, 2nd place, editing
Colorado Independent Publishers Association – 3rd place
Independent Press Award – Distinguished Favorite
Next Generation Indie Awards – Finalist
Reading the West Awards – Nominee

Letter of Appreciation from New Mexico Governor, Michelle Lujan Grisham


252 pages | 978-1951122102 | October 13, 2020